Election season approaching, candidate filing opens July 31 in small towns

 Slug:
 LANNWS-07-26-23 CANDIDATE FILING

 Print depth:
 11.34 (1690 characters)

 Start date/time:
 Jul 21, 2023 10:58 PM

 Section tags:
 nc-lan

 nc-lan/news
 nc-lan/news/elections

 nc-lan/news/government
 Authors:

 hjones@thelancasternews.com
 Byline:

 By Haley Jones
 hjones@thelancasternews.com

Content

The 2023 municipal election season is approaching in Lancaster County, with general elections slated to take place in the towns of Heath Springs, Kershaw and Van Wyck. Several council seats are up for grabs for new and existing candidates.

General information

Municipal elections for the three towns will take place Nov. 7, 2023, according to Voter Registration Director for Lancaster County Mary Ann Hudson. She said anyone wishing to register to vote in these elections must do so no later than Oct. 8, one month before the election. Voter registration by mail applications will be accepted if postmarked by Oct. 9.

Open seats and incumbents

Heath Springs and Van Wyck will both have two at-large council seats on the ballot. Kershaw's ballot will have the mayor, one at-large district and town council districts 1 and 2 up for grabs.

In Heath Springs, Council members Iva Drakeford and Vincent Webb's seats are both on the ballot, and both intend to run for re-election.

In Van Wyck, Councilmen Bob Doster and Xavier Kee's seats will be on the ballot, but neither plans to run for re-election.

In Kershaw, all four individuals are seeking re-election. That includes Mayor Mark Dorman, District 1 Councilwoman Bobbie Faulkenberry, District 2 Councilman Michael Cook and at-large Councilman Randy Seegars.

For candidates interested in launching campaigns, the candidate-filing period officially opens at noon July 31 and runs until noon Aug. 11. Filing can be completed 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays at the Voter Registration Office on the lower level of the Lancaster County Administration Building, 101 N. Main St., Lancaster.

For more information, call the Voter Registration Office at 803-285-2969.